• Dog’s Naturally Magazine

    A terrific new magazine on holistic dog health! Click here to visit Dogs...Naturally.
  • Recent Comments

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 16 other followers

  • Visitor #:

    • 45,614

Mmmmm…. Fresh, Local, Organic Corn!

For once I have a happy excuse for not having written for so long: visitors!  I have had non-stop visitors since July 18th.  First my father and brother arrived, followed a few days later by my mother and grandparents.  They stayed for a week total, and the day after they left my friend Angela and her two wonderful daughters came for a fortnight.  So there has been much cooking and chatting, and cooking and chatting, for endless days now.  I had delusions of getting work done, but decided to put writing on hold for a while and just enjoy.  It is really wonderful to have a full house, with laughter and meaningful conversation flowing non-stop.

The food has been flowing non-stop too.  All my visitors are food focused and have enjoyed trips to the various local markets and a few restaurants.  Angela has been keen to make bread, yogurt, cheese and sauerkraut.  It’s so much more pleasant to do all of this when you have someone to help, and to talk with.

On Saturday we went to the Aylmer market, which is small but has a wonderful organic stand with plenty of fresh produce every week.  This week they had a box of organic corn with 57 ears in it.  We bought it all!  We stuffed our faces that evening with as much corn as we could eat.  I then set 7 ears aside to make this fantastically delicious corn chowder, and blanched the rest for the freezer.

Freezing corn is fast, easy and a fantastic way to eat summer in winter.  You simply husk the corn and pop into boiling water for 5 minutes – I boiled the corn 10 ears at a time.  Remove from hot water (carefully!) and immerse in a cold water bath (I fill my sink with cold water) until cool enough to handle easily.  From there you stand the cobs on their fat end, one at a time, and cut the kernels off with a knife.  You won’t be able to get them off perfectly, but that’s ok.  Just run the knife down the cob as close as you can without cutting into the cob.  Then put the kernels in a bag and put the bag in the freezer.  It took me less than an hour to do 38 ears.

Now that I am in my third year of local eating, I have a better idea of what I will, and will not use during the winter months.  In my first year I blanched and froze quite a lot of vegetables that never ended up being used.  Last year I still stored food I didn’t eat, although really the only thing left in the freezer right now is Brussel sprouts and red peppers.  I just couldn’t find anything to do with them (although I’m still hopeful that I’ll use up those lovely red peppers in the next week or so).  What I did use a lot of was corn, peas, and leeks.  These freeze well and are great in all sorts of soups and casseroles.  So this year I am loading up on each.  From 38 ears of corn I harvested 24 cups for the freezer.  That should do me well this winter!

2 Responses

  1. Do you freeze your leeks as well, and if so- how do you prep them? I’m so new to all of this…

  2. Thanks for the instructions on freezing corn. We got a ton from our CSA share this summer and I was wondering how on earth we were going to eat all of them but now I’ll just freeze some

Leave a Reply

