• Dog’s Naturally Magazine

    A terrific new magazine on holistic dog health! Click here to visit Dogs...Naturally.
  • Recent Comments

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 16 other followers

  • Visitor #:

    • 45,614

Tomato Soup with a Twist

And hour in the garden and half an hour in the kitchen and I am a new person.  Phew!  I hate feeling so tired and low.  A need to make sure I get a little physical exercise every day!  I usually hike the dogs in the morning and that does it, but as two of the girls are in heat right now I’ve been not walking anyone.  Lazy girl.

After gardening, I decided I needed to eat better than I have been the last couple of days.  Having toast for three meals a day is probably not a great way to feel healthy!  Even if it is home made from local flour and wild yeast.  Looking at my stores for something I could make quickly, I decided to try tomato soup.  I’ve actually never made it before, but have seen my roommate whip together what looked like a very tasty dish on more than one occasion.  She was happy to share her recipe and here’s what I came up with:

Roasted red pepper, kale, tomato soup

– Sauté one onion & a few chopped fresh chives from the garden in lots of butter and a little pepper
– Once onions are soft and lightly browned, add two tablespoons of flour
– Pour in one pint of canned tomato sauce
–  Add half a cup of chopped roasted red pepper (from the freezer)
– Add any other available veggies: I put in two small fresh tomatoes and a big bunch of fresh kale from the garden
– Season to taste with: oregano, basil, soy sauce, a little honey or brown sugar (if sauce is acidic from canning), and a quarter teaspoon of chili peppers (if you like a bit of bite)

The result is fantastically delicious and the whole thing took about 5 minutes of effort, and 10 minutes of cooking.  The most strenuous part was picking the kale and chives, which I discovered to be ready to harvest while weeding the back garden bed.  I just love perennials! (Kale is not perennial, but often survives the winter and produces a small crop before bolting)

I am enjoying right now as I type, with a side dish of toast & cheese. It would be mighty good with grated cheese melted on top, or some yogurt (or sour cream) mixed in.  I feel fully restored now and ready to get back to my mountain of work.  Yipee!

Leave a Reply

