• Dog’s Naturally Magazine

    A terrific new magazine on holistic dog health! Click here to visit Dogs...Naturally.
  • Recent Comments

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 16 other followers

  • Visitor #:

    • 45,754

What’s Stopping YOU From Making Change?

OK, I’ve been thinking about this for a while now and would really love to hear what people have to say.  In my last post, I mentioned that it seems like an increasing number of people are changing their eating and shopping habits and buying from small-scale and more sustainable producers.  Here’s a short clip from Plastic Pollution Coalition.  It’s of 14 year old J.D. speaking out against the use of plastics:

J.D. makes a very interesting argument here: he asserts that people are aware of the problems we face, but they don’t care enough to do something about it.

I’d like to think that most people do care, so I’m not sure that’s the best way to look at the apparently apathy of the masses.  I know that the readers of this blog are likely already involved in change, or at least interested in and thinking about making change, and may not be representative of the general population.  Nevertheless, most of us had to go through some thought process to get to where we are now.

So here’s my question to you: We know, and presumably care, so why don’t we change our habits?

What changes have you made, or would you like to make in order to live in a more eco-friendly way?  What inspired you to make this change?  What got, or is getting in the way?  What would need to happen to allow (or convince) you to turn thought into action?

I am not asking to pass judgement.  I am genuinely interested because if we don’t understand what’s getting in the way, we can’t do anything about it.  There are plenty of things I keep thinking about doing that are more environmentally friendly, yet fail to get my act together and do, for a variety of reasons.  I know what’s stopping me but don’t want to generalize to others.

I’d really love to hear from you.  Thanks in advance to anyone who takes a minute to share their thoughts!

2 Responses

  1. I think its more complicated. People are aware but there are degrees of awarness. How well are they informed about the impacts and damages to the planet? They are oversaturated today with the “planet protection isssues” its just everywhere, but do they have concrete information, actual real examples? Not everyone does. When you hear something over and over again you just stop listening, I think what the young J. D. observes around him, is, that young people are ready to care, and they do, but … to live green takes a lot of time and energy, its just so much easier and faster to grab a coke or a plastic bottle of water, if you dont want to drink tap water. There are almost no glass bottles with water! Windshield liquid? Always in plastic bottles, no other way to get it!
    Also, there is a conflict between living green and living healthy. I use about 3 litres of water every day, for cooking and drinking. I don’t trust the tap water so I am buiyng water. Here in Quebec, even if the water is so called “spring water” its always either demineralized or ozonized. Why don’t they just leave the spring natural water as it is? The only water which is not being treated at all and is actually natural, is the ESKA natural spring water. It comes in 1l plastic bottles. It also comes in 750ml glass bottles, 3 times the price and almost never available. So what is more important to me in this circumstances? My health or the planet protection? I don’t like buying all those plastic bottles but I don’t want to drink the tap water neither.
    Maybe there is another solution?
    Renata

  2. Hey!
    I was inspired to change largely through social justice issues. I wanted to ensure that the products I was buying were not the products of child labor, bonded labor, and so on. Turns out companies that don’t care about human rights generally don’t care about environmental issues…so I sort of slid into increasing my own interest in and concern around climate change, water issues, etc.

Leave a Reply

