• Dog’s Naturally Magazine

    A terrific new magazine on holistic dog health! Click here to visit Dogs...Naturally.
  • Recent Comments

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 16 other followers

  • Visitor #:

    • 45,610

High Summer

I thought it was about time to change my header image!  The new shoots and sprouts of early spring are long gone, replaced by the bounty of high summer.  While it hasn’t felt much like summer this month, the plants all seem to have taken what they needed to blossom and produce fruit and veggies.  I’ve been enjoying strawberries, red and wild black raspberries, and soon tree fruit! The first local apricots and plums are making their appearances at market, where I will be heading just as soon as I finish this entry.

I am almost fully settled into my new home, which is allowing me to start thinking about other things again (i.e. besides unpacking, updating mailing addresses, dissertation writing and exercising dogs).  As summer’s bounty piles high, I am reminded that I have to start thinking about winter.  Yes, winter.  Hard to even conceive of it, but it will be upon us sooner than we realize and I need to start putting food by.

My new housemate puts by an enormous amount of food (most of which she grows herself) by canning, drying and freezing. I am really looking forward to learning more about each of these methods and expanding my repertoire of food for the winter.  So far this year I’ve only made some stewed strawberries and raspberries, both a nice treat but neither will sustain me in the cold months!  Within the next couple of weeks I’ll have to get into full swing for food prep.

Lots more to catch up on but not right now – I must get to market as I’m quite late already.  Last week I got there after they’d sold out of several of the items I had wanted to buy, so best not let that happen again!

Leave a Reply

