• Dog’s Naturally Magazine

    A terrific new magazine on holistic dog health! Click here to visit Dogs...Naturally.
  • Recent Comments

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 16 other followers

  • Visitor #:

    • 45,756

Filling the Gaps

Just a quick entry today as I don’t have much to say but am trying to get back into my daily routine of writing…

This morning I ate the last of the chocolate zucchini bread for breakfast!  What a great way to start the day.  We’re almost through the leftovers from Sunday’s party (not bad that two of us were able to eat three meals a day for three days after!) so I’m going to have to start thinking about cooking again.  I did make some bread on Monday, sourdough, and learned an important lesson.  I finally have a scale and made my bread according to weight rather than size measurements.  The dough ended up very sticky and hard to work with.  I thought it was going to be a disaster but the end result was fantastic!  The crumb was better than I’ve ever had it turn out before – light and full of air holes.  Apparently I’ve been making the dough too dry.  Now to find a way to work with this stickier dough.

Yesterday I went to the Aylmer Tuesday morning market.  It was quite fun – quite a few food vendors mixed with a flea market of just about everything you can imagine.  I only bought eggs and raspberries as I didn’t need anything more, but I had wanted to see what was available at that market.  There is Janzen’s cheese, I was happy to find, which sells local cheeses.  And Gerber Meats, which sells drug free beef and pork.  I need to talk to them about getting bulk food for the dogs, such as heart, tongue and off-cuts.

The flea market had a lot of… stuff (junk?) that I really didn’t find overly interesting, but then I am still trying to get rid of stuff rather than accumulate it.  I am a sucker for cool old pieces that just need a little TLC to make them look great, but I didn’t find anything like that. Mostly it looked like stuff from the ’70s and ’80s that managed to survive and now needed a new home.  I even found a few freezers but they were very expensive ($200 for one that I paid $50 for at a garage sale).  I’d like another freezer, but not at that price!

It’s interesting and fun getting to know a new area, always full of possibility.  It certainly helps that my roommate has already found really great places to buy food and other necessities.  I look forward to visiting the Amish grain store she goes to and other local suppliers.  The one thing I am missing, however, is access to sheep for the dogs.  I thought I had found a place to train, but it doesn’t seem to be working out.  I find it difficult to have to depend on others for things that are really important to me, and I think my best bet is to find a way to buy a few sheep of my own and just rent some pasture space for them.  I guess that will be my next project, just as soon as I put the last couple of plants in the ground and empty the last of my boxes, both of which I anticipate finishing by the weekend.

Leave a Reply

