• Dog’s Naturally Magazine

    A terrific new magazine on holistic dog health! Click here to visit Dogs...Naturally.
  • Recent Comments

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 16 other followers

  • Visitor #:

    • 45,668

McGuinty says: Leave Waste at Stores

Here’s an interesting twist.  According to this article, Ontario premier Dalton McGuinty is encouraging people to leave excess packaging behind at stores to promote a reduction of unnecessary packaging.  Specifically he states, “You can do things like remove packaging at the grocery store or at the pharmacy and say: `I’m not taking this with me. You take responsibility for this. You choose to sell it in this format and I don’t want all that stuff that comes with it – I just want the product itself.'”

What an interesting idea.  I may give it a try and see what happens.  I expect store managers won’t be particularly happy however.  That said, I rarely buy anything that has any significant packaging, so it may be a while before I have the opportunity.

3 Responses

  1. Woohoo.. it is about time. I just love it when politicians make these kinds of bold statements

  2. Our local grocery stores now charge 5 cents a bag if you forget to bring your own. People are starting to remember to bring them, so policy does work sometimes!

  3. I’ve thought of this, but does that mean the store will “deal” with it by tossing it right in the trash? Is it better to bring it with me and take it all apart for recycling?

    It’s better that it never got made — I get that — but the store is unlikely to make that decision so is leaving it with them actually going to help?

Leave a Reply

