• Dog’s Naturally Magazine

    A terrific new magazine on holistic dog health! Click here to visit Dogs...Naturally.
  • Recent Comments

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 16 other followers

  • Visitor #:

    • 45,689

Seeing GREEN!

I know, I know.  It’s snowing out.  So how can I be seeing green, you ask?  well, this week I got my first fresh, local greens from Rick Cornelissen of Eco-Logic Farm.  Rick also has fresh tomatoes.  I’m not sure how he’s producing tomatoes at this time of year, I’m guessing in a greenhouse.  I must remember to ask at next pick-up.  I do know his tomatoes are grown in soil and that he doesn’t use sprays etc.  

Over the last couple of weeks I have also collected some fresh, potted herbs from Heritage Line Herbs.  They have a booth now at Western Fair Market in south London and they bring in quite a few herbs, some seeds and some of their preserves. Of note, Western Fair Market has recently undergone a change of management and has quite a few new vendors.  I also get my cheese there, a few produce times such as some amaranth from On The Move Organics (of note, this is a small, local company that also offers a home box delivery program, soon by bike in some areas of London – do check their website for more info!), biodegradable cleaning supplies, and of course my fair trade, hand made chocolates (from fabulous Cocoa Earth).

So despite it being white outside, for lunch today I had my first salad of the year.  I tossed the mixed greens with fresh cilantro, basil, parsley and arugula.  I then chopped up a tomato and some local swiss cheese, and topped it with organic sea salt (purchased locally in France by my mother and brought back in her suitcase), fair trade black pepper and olive oil (both purchased at 10000 Villages) and balsamic vinegar.  Balsamic vinegar remains one of the only items I have not been able to either give up, or satisfactorily find a good source of.  

I love the feeling of knowing exactly where every item on my plate comes from, and picturing the person I got it from.  Heck, even the bowl I ate it in was hand made by Queenston Pottery.  Now I think it is time for a second helping.  Yum!

Leave a Reply

