• Dog’s Naturally Magazine

    A terrific new magazine on holistic dog health! Click here to visit Dogs...Naturally.
  • Recent Comments

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 16 other followers

  • Visitor #:

    • 45,614

Spring has Sprung

With the weather being so gorgeous this weekend, I couldn’t help start working in my garden, even if I may not end up spending the summer here (I am definitely going to have to move, but exactly when is still up in the air).  So I spent some time both Friday and Saturday clearing out the old leaves and dead plant matter.

I also dismantled my composter, and discovered that not much soil had been produced over the winter.  This wasn’t helped, I’m sure, by the fact that I didn’t bother to layer my food with brown matter (leaves, dirt etc.).  So what I found was a stinky, gooey mess.  Lovely!  I shoveled it all into a pile and then put it back into my composter, one layer at a time, mixed with the dead leaves I had raked and some soil.  It will hopefully break down nicely now.  Plus I plan to add red wiggler worms just as soon as things warm up a little more.  Probably by the end of April, provided that I’m staying…

I was delighted to discover all the life already waking up in my garden.  While at first glance there doesn’t seem much going on:

Closer inspection reveals that there’s quite a bit happening here!  For example, look at how far along my Bloody Dock Sorrel is (I have no idea what to do with this plant but given the name, I just had to include it in my salad garden!)

And chives:

This is French Tarragon, which apparently survived the winter against the odds:

The oregano is already greening up nicely (as is the thyme and sage)

And when I went to dig up the stumps of my glorious kale (have I written about just how wonderful kale is?  I was harvesting kale right through the winter until early March.  Just a fabulous addition to any garden!!), I discovered that it had new shoots on it.  I just couldn’t bring myself to dig it up:

And finally, here comes garlic!  I have 15 or so little shoots like this, poking up through the earth:

And check this out – first flowers!  Even though these are technically “weeds” I left these very pretty little SISs (spontaneous indigenous species) in the cracks between my patio stones:

You know, I have developed such a wonderful relationship with this little patch of earth.  And I do mean little – my whole yard is all of 14′ x 16′.  But I feel very connected to it and all the plants it contains.  It pains me to leave it, which is why it is so important to me to at least be able to bring my plants when I move.  

As I gardened, I collected quite an audience curiously watching and no doubt wondering why I wasn’t asking for their help:

I did allow my constant gardening companion, Liam, to join me.  Unlike the dogs, he does not destroy my fragile seedlings.  And he really knows how to soak up a good sunbeam or two!

Finally, I sprinkled some lettuce seeds in a corner of the garden to see if I can get anything started this early.  And I put some peas and parsely seed in soaking to be planted later today.  If I get this garden going much more than this, it’s going to be hard to leave.  But for the moment, all I’ll be doing is starting seedlings indoors and in my new little (metal and plastic, probably made in China – I didn’t check because I don’t want to know ) greenhouse.  Since my roommate now lives in the only room with a sunny window, the alternative was to buy grow lights.  I figured this might be the lesser of two evils, since the grow lights probably are also manufactured in some horribly environmentally unfriendly way, probably contain mercury, and require electricity to run.  At least this is solar heated and, if I take care of it, should in theory last me many years (the brightly coloured plastic bins I scavenged from our recycle depot to hold my seedling pots):

2 Responses

  1. Wow! I’m impressed. “Bloody Duck Sorrel” sounds quite scary, but if it’s like the sorrel we have here, it’s a really versatile and underused plant. Imagine spinach with a squirt or two of lemon!

  2. I love to grow all sorts of interesting plants and herbs in my garden, but I don’t know what to do with half of them. That will be my challenge this summer! Spinach with lemon sounds GREAT! Speaking of spinach, time to plant some tomorrow… Cheers

Leave a Reply

