• Dog’s Naturally Magazine

    A terrific new magazine on holistic dog health! Click here to visit Dogs...Naturally.
  • Recent Comments

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 16 other followers

  • Visitor #:

    • 45,614

Progress!

Check out my latest attempt at sourdough bread.  Note that it is actually somewhat browned, and no longer is trying to impersonate a flying saucer.  Yeah!!!

The trick to the rising part, according to my chef-turned-librarian colleague at work, is to build and shape the dough in a way that encourages it to rise up, instead of out.  He mimed the process briefly, and that is what I tried.  The shape is far from perfect, but it is a big improvement over yesterday’s saucer loaf.  Apparently there are a number of good videos on YouTube that show you in detail how to do this properly.  If I find any that are helpful, I’ll be sure to post the link.

One of the great (and scary) things about search engines it that they automatically search the blogosphere and link blogs of similar topics.  Sometimes they are way off base, but often they are not.  Either way, people who might never otherwise read your blog are presented with a link to it, and vise versa.  Today, this blog was linked to my last post about bread – a blog all about sourdough!  Now, clearly my bread is not in the same league as what is presented here, but what a neat blog to discover.  I’ll be sure to read through it and see what I can learn.  Here’s a photo from that blog to give you an idea of what I am aiming for, and just how far I yet have to go!  

In comparison, my bread still looks very lumpy and anemic. It does, however, taste much better than anything I can buy, so I’m still content.  And I’ll keep working away.  It’s a fun experiment and a great goal to set for myself.  

And just for you really serious foodie types out there, here’s a very neat blog about wild yeast baking that was linked to the sourdough blog above.  So much to read, so much to learn!

2 Responses

  1. I’ve been making our own bread for the past few weeks. Actually, I haven’t been able to do it in the last two weeks but we are determined to try new recipes. We want to start trying new flours as well. Our whole wheat recipe is not really working and I don’t particularly like sourdough (Karen does). Any thing interesting in your book regarding spelt flour or any other whole wheat recipe?

  2. Hi Lucas – good for you! I will take a look at my book and see what it says. So far I have just been focusing on making sourdough. I now have half a dozen loaves in the freezer, so it may be time to try something else! I’ll let you know what I come up with. Also, you are welcome to borrow my book. I’ll try and remember to drop it off before leaving this weekend.

Leave a Reply

