• Dog’s Naturally Magazine

    A terrific new magazine on holistic dog health! Click here to visit Dogs...Naturally.
  • Recent Comments

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 16 other followers

  • Visitor #:

    • 45,668

Isn’t this a cool photo?

I just love how my new banner picture turned out.  I took it today while driving out in the country during a snow squall.  The original is very monochromatic so I asked my computer to “fix” the exposure (I often do it by hand but sometimes let the computer do it).  

Obviously it had trouble getting a read on what to fix and did some pretty funky enhancements. Usually I don’t like that, but this time I think it works quite nicely!

Along with unfinished sketches, I love photos that look like impressionist art.  I used to do a lot of manual manipulation of my photographs during printing and such, and have long considered digital manipulation to be “cheating.”  I still do – it took no effort to achieve this photo, while many of my hand prints took hours and many attempts.  Yet, surprisingly, the simplicity of the process does not diminish my delight in the outcome.  Maybe I’ll enjoy digital photography after all…

(Edited to add: With the new format I just set, the photo doesn’t work quite as well.  I prefer it in the small version above.  I’ll need play around a little to see if I can fix it…)

2 Responses

  1. Wow, that really is a beautiful pic. I love how your computer ‘fixed’ it. It does indeed look like a painting. Reminds me a bit of Gerhard Richter.

  2. I agree! It’s really lovely. Makes me glad to be indoors, though…

Leave a Reply

