• Dog’s Naturally Magazine

    A terrific new magazine on holistic dog health! Click here to visit Dogs...Naturally.
  • Recent Comments

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 16 other followers

  • Visitor #:

    • 45,614

From Dreams to Reality

The year is coming to a close in just a few days. I am in the process of taking stock of the year that is ending, and setting out new plans and goals for the year to come. This has been a difficult year, and while I’ve accomplished some things I’m proud of – like winning the provincial novice sheep herding championship with Hannah – there is much left unachieved. For 2009, I am going to list my goals, and I am going to periodically review them to make sure I stay on track. I can think of a few right now:

1) Finish this damned dissertation (getting a proposal approved would be a good step in this direction, but continues to be a little more than a pipe dream…)

2) Move to some property where I can take a few more steps to a more sustainable lifestyle, and have some sheep of my own!

3) Find a job that I both enjoy and that keeps a roof over my head without killing me.

4) Take some new steps toward living a more environmentally friendly life, regardless of whether or not I find that dream farm for rent.

I have heard told that to make goals a reality, you need to start with two simple steps: 1) write them down somewhere you can review them regularly, and also somewhere others can see them so that the world can help you get there; and 2) these goals need to be very explicit. Otherwise your goals just remain dreams. Between now and the new year, I will put thought into how to make the above goals explicit, and I will post them here.

Tonight I came across an interesting blog that has inspired me, just from glancing at it briefly. The blog is titled Unstuffed, and is the chronicle of a person who attempted to go a whole year without buying anything. What a concept! As I struggle to purge all the stuff in my house (in preparation for my impending move to said dream farm), I realize just how much stuff I can do without. I suspect as I read this blog I will find a number of ways to make my goal for a greener 2009 closer to a reality.

Leave a Reply

