• Dog’s Naturally Magazine

    A terrific new magazine on holistic dog health! Click here to visit Dogs...Naturally.
  • Recent Comments

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 16 other followers

  • Visitor #:

    • 45,668

What Has Happened to the CBC?

Is it just me, or has the CBC significantly changed its programming? Here it is, 10:30 on a Sunday morning and I just turned on CBC2 to listen to some relaxing classical music while puttering about the kitchen. But what are they playing? Screechy bad rock. I immediately turned off the radio and put in a CD.

This has been happening all the time of late. I used to never turn my dial from CBC2 except when I wanted insightful news Рwhen I turned to CBC1. Now I knew that in the evenings, CBC2 played horrible contemporary pop most of the time, but I rarely listen to the radio in the evening. And if I do, I like good contemporary pop music, something rarely found on either of the CBC stations. It is just not their fort̩.

I just did a Google search to see what I could find, and it seems I am not alone in my frustrations! There is a Facebook group dedicated to “Save Classical Music at the CBC“. Here’s a snippet of what they write:

“CBC has gutted their weekday schedule, relegating Classical programming to a ghetto slot between 10am and 3pm when most people are at work. Gone are Music & Company – Tom Allen’s morning show, Here’s to You – Catherine Belyea’s (Formerly Shelley Solmes’) all-request show, Studio Sparks – due to the venerable Eric Friesen’s “retirement”, and Disc Drive – Jurgen Gothe’s popular drive-home show after almost 30 years. These changes come on the heels of last years round of cuts to vital programs…

What they are really trying to do is be all things to all people, alienating their most devoted and dedicated fan base, wreaking havoc on the Canadian Classical music scene, and attracting almost no one in their place.”

Ha! So it’s not my imagination. CBC2 really has been trashed. I especially agree with this last paragraph. Who listens to the crap they are playing now? I love good rock and contemporary pop, but I go to other stations to listen to those. I rarely find anything of that genre played on CBC2 (or CBC1 for that matter) to be something I can listen to for more than a minute or two without changing the dial. For years, I had my living room stereo programmed to come on at 8am and turn off a 8pm, set at CBC2. But I’ve had to turn it off so often recently, because of bad music, that I’ve deleted the auto programming on my machine.

The link I included above has a long list of people you can write to should you feel the same way and wish to voice your concerns. I would like to add that I think the CBC1 has similarly gone down hill lately, replacing its morning news coverage with… more contemporary pop music. What gives? This is beyond disappointing.

2 Responses

  1. As a child of the 60’s, I used to revere the CBC as a wonderful Canadian icon, one that presented an unbiased truly Canadian perspective of our world and current events. Unfortunately , in recent years the CBC seems to have become some sort of super politically correct ultra left wing organization, who’s sole purpose evidently is to destroy every last vestige of what we once were, in the name of social engineering to suit the so called enlightened policies of the liberal elite.
    To identify the transformation of what once was, to what now is as tragic, is truly an understatement .
    I for one am ashamed of the CBC and its goofy agenda, and if this is the way things are to be from now on, I would appreciate if they would do it on some one else’s dime, and while were on the subject of public funding, why does the CBC have more commercials than the private channels? It has become unwatchable as the time devoted to advertising seems to exceed that alotted for programming!

    • Hi Rolf, Thanks for your thoughts on this topic. I definitely agree that the CBC has changed dramatically. It seems to be trying to be all things to all people, and as a result is failing on many fronts. I am particularly frustrated by the repetition of morning shows in the evening, and hearing the same program several times throughout the week. I guess the budget has been cut back so dramatically that they cannot produce enough programming. This is very frustrating to regular listeners, which I suspect comprises most CBC listeners. I knew few people who just tune in occasionally. At my house, the dial (and yes, it is still a dial) is set permanently to CBC One. But most of the time, these days, the radio is off.

      I don’t know that I agree with your comment that the CBC is unabashedly left leaning, however. I believe it is in fact shifting more and more towards supporting a neo-liberal agenda. While spun in politically correct rhetoric, fewer and fewer serious issues are really challenged. This I find particularly true of medical issues and especially of the H1N1 vaccine. The CBC was a blatant propaganda machine for this fiasco, and as more and more Canadians come down with adverse health reactions, they ought to be deeply ashamed of their one-sided presentation of this issue.

      As for CBC television programming, I got rid of my TV set last June and have yet to miss any of it!

Leave a Reply

