• Dog’s Naturally Magazine

    A terrific new magazine on holistic dog health! Click here to visit Dogs...Naturally.
  • Recent Comments

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 16 other followers

  • Visitor #:

    • 45,756

Life’s Little Ironies

Do you remember my lovely wolf pumpkin from Hallowe’en? I forgot to tell the tale of it’s demise…

This pumpkin sat proudly on my porch the entire week prior to Hallowe’en. On the eve itself, I lit it and it brought much attention. We had around 75 kids come by over a 1.5 hour stretch, so I stood on the porch and chatted with neighbours while dolling out candy. Many people stopped to admire the pumpkin and some even took photos! I was indeed proud.

The next morning, upon arriving home from market, I noticed something black and fluffy sitting on top of my porch’s orange wolf globe. At first I thought it was my little cat, but then I realized that it was a squirrel. I had my camera in my purse, so whipped it out to snap a pick. Just as I did, however, look what the little monster did!

He actually leaned over, ripped off a wolf, and then sat there and ate it!

If I hadn’t seen it with my own two eyes, I’m not sure I would have believed it. At least he had the decency to wait until the day after Hallowe’en to destroy my pumpkin! By the end of the afternoon, all three wolves were gone. He didn’t touch the rest of the pumpkin, which naturally ended up in the compost.

Leave a Reply

