• Dog’s Naturally Magazine

    A terrific new magazine on holistic dog health! Click here to visit Dogs...Naturally.
  • Recent Comments

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 16 other followers

  • Visitor #:

    • 45,691

Cooking Up a Storm

Last night I made sweet pickled beets, potato and leek soup, and a large batch of tomato sauce.  It took me until nearly 1am to finish everything and tidy up, but now I have quite a collection of nicely filled jars for my pantry and containers for the freezer.  I took a few photos, which I will insert later as my computer is on the blink so I can’t download them.

Last harvest season I spent an awful lot of time chopping, blanching and freezing vegetables with the idea that I would then pull out these little packages of beans or corn and cook them into something tasty.  For the most part, it never happened.  Much of what I blanched last summer was still in my freezer at the start of this summer, and my roommate and I had to work very hard to get through it.  Some I am finally putting out in the compost, and the last few items I am cooking up this week.

This year I am going to try something different.  Looking at what I did end up eating last winter – meat, dairy, bread, sauerkraut, pickles, pickled beets, and root vegetables – I decided to make my own pickles and beets, and can as much fruit as I can.  As for summer vegetables, for the most part I have been eating them as they were meant to be eaten: fresh.  Whatever I can’t eat, I am cooking into soups and sauces for freezing as that way I will be much more likely to actually eat them!  For some reason I find it much easier to cook up a nice soup from fresh produce sitting right in front of me, but for the life of me can’t do it from frozen veggies waiting in my freezer.  I think it may have to do with the fact that what’s in my freezer isn’t going to spoil and go to waste, but what’s in my fridge sure will!  So the pressure is definitely on with the fresh stuff.  Or maybe it’s just more inspiring…

Leave a Reply

