• Dog’s Naturally Magazine

    A terrific new magazine on holistic dog health! Click here to visit Dogs...Naturally.
  • Recent Comments

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 16 other followers

  • Visitor #:

    • 45,756

Sheep Herding Update

When I log into this blog, I typically check my statistics to see if anyone actually reads it, and if yes, what entries catch their attention.  I am always a little surprised to discover just how many hits I get from my solitary herding post!  I have another blog that is entirely devoted to my dogs, and write extensively about herding, yet never get anyone landing on that blog using the search term ‘sheep herding’!  That blog gets a lot of traffic for my posts about health issues.  Go figure.

Since people keep landing here looking for info on herding, I thought I’d give a little update on how my training and trialing has been going.  So far, Hannah and I have now competed in four trials and have done very well, taking high in trial in three out of four of them, and coming in 3rd overall in the fourth.  We are only competing at the entry level (of 5 levels), so this isn’t really a big deal in the grand scheme of things.  But it is a big deal to me as I’ve wanted to learn to herd for nearly 20 years and am very proud of what my dog and I have been able to accomplish.  I have my younger dog, Mira, nicely up and running as well now, and hope to compete with her next season.

Here are a few photos for your viewing pleasure. First, Hannah working:

 

Mira wearing:

 

A video of Mira learning to balance to me:

 

Cooling off after a hard work out!:

 

I think we need a bigger tub!

 

2 Responses

  1. I’m so excited that I found your blog. How did you get into herding? I have a Welsh Corgi and I’d love for her to try something like that.

  2. Hi Victoria Rose! Thanks for taking the time to read my blog! I got into herding by contacting an instructor and going out for lessons. Where are you located? My instructor only trains border collies, but there are a couple of places you can go to for all-breed herding lessons.

    Try this website: http://www.herding.ca/herdsearch.php

    In the search section select “Ontario” and “trainer”. The list they provide includes all the people I know of as well as a few others. Hopefully one will be close enough to you to be convenient to visit regularly! Herding takes a long-term commitment to get anywhere with, but you can also just go out a few times and have fun and see if your dog likes it. I’d love to hear if you decide to proceed!

Leave a Reply

