• Dog’s Naturally Magazine

    A terrific new magazine on holistic dog health! Click here to visit Dogs...Naturally.
  • Recent Comments

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 16 other followers

  • Visitor #:

    • 45,693

Rhubarb Maple Pudding Cake

I will post this in on my recipe page, but I was so pleased with how this turned out that I just must share!  This recipe was posted in the Londoner, a free newspaper I get every Wednesday, by former chef Christine Scheer.  I modified it slightly to use only local ingredients (ie. cut out the sugar), and it was a big success!  It take minutes to put together and is a very yummy desert.  The first time I made it I brought to a pot-luck and every last mouthful was gone.  I barely got to even taste it!

2 tbsp butter, softened
2 tbsp honey 
1 cup flour (I used spelt flour)
1-1/4 tsp baking powder (this is the only non-local ingredient I used, next time I’ll try an egg)
1/2 tsp salt

5 cups rhubarb, chopped
1 cup maple syrup
1 tsp vanilla (I used fair trade organic) 

1) Heat oven to 350F (180C).  Grease an 8″ square glass cake pan.

2) Cream butter and honey together.  I melted the butter (by accident) which made it easier, and it turned out fine.  Mix in flour, salt and baking powder.  mixture should be crumbly.  Stir in rhubarb and mix until it is well coated.  Put the resulting mixture into the cake pan.

3) Mix the vanilla into the maple syrup.  Pour the whole thing evenly over the rhubarb mixture (but don’t stir)

4) Bake for 1 hour or until top starts to turn golden brown.  Let cool at least 20 minutes before eating.  Great alone or with vanilla ice cream.  YUM!

Leave a Reply

