• Dog’s Naturally Magazine

    A terrific new magazine on holistic dog health! Click here to visit Dogs...Naturally.
  • Recent Comments

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 16 other followers

  • Visitor #:

    • 45,691

A Composting Dilemma

I am presently in a quandary: my composter is full.  As I type, sitting at my kitchen counter, I am surrounded by several bowls of compost with no home.  Having cooked up a storm over the past couple of days, I have collected quite a collection of potato skins and eggshells, in addition to the large jar of earwig flavoured pickles.  Unfortunately, because of the cold weather, the compost has not been braking down in my composter and it is now full to overflowing.

So what am I to do with all this organic matter?  I am loath to throw it out, but a few phone calls have revealed that those of my neighbours who also compost are facing a similar problem.  I also considered purchasing a second composter, but this doesn’t fit my student budget.  Surely there is something I can do with this stuff that doesn’t require spending $70 on another plastic tower in my yard!

Next time I have access to highspeed internet (my home internet is very, very slow) I am going to do some research on the matter.  I’ll be sure to post what I come up with.  In the meantime, if anyone has any ideas, I’m all ears!

3 Responses

  1. a short term solution, while you look for places to put your winter compost outside – put everything in the freezer.

    also, vermicomposting, while requiring a bit of an investment at the outset (buying worms, making them a home), would allow you to compost indoors.

  2. and throwing things in the freezer was just a nod to preventing stuff from stinking up the house or drawing fruit flies. however, i wasn’t smart enough to remember that those things can also be achieved by putting the compost outside… where it will freeze just as well.

  3. Thanks for the ideas Sarah! This all has been such a steep learning curve and there is a lot I’ll be doing differently next winter. I actually met someone who sells worms and info on composting at the Seedy Saturday event of two weeks ago (I still need to write a post about that!). I took her information and will be following up to get my compost composting properly from here on in. In the meantime, putting the excess in the freezer is a good idea as it’s getting mushy enough out that I’m not so sure it will freeze outside! Hopefully in just a couple of more weeks the warmer weather will have done it’s job of helping things breakdown in the tower and I’ll have room again for my food scraps. Please give my best to Rosemary and Thyme!

Leave a Reply

