• Dog’s Naturally Magazine

    A terrific new magazine on holistic dog health! Click here to visit Dogs...Naturally.
  • Recent Comments

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 16 other followers

  • Visitor #:

    • 45,754

Say Cheese!

I made a pleasant little discovery today.  Remark Fresh Market – an independent grocery store on the west side of London – now carries Monforte Dairy sheep milk cheeses.  I first came across Monforte at McCully’s fabulous Common Ground harvest celebration in September.  I have made a point of looking for these delicious local artisan sheep milk cheeses ever since! 

So far Remark only carries their unripened soft cheeses but that’s a start!  They carry four varieties, inlucing my favourite: lavendar, garlic and herb – a unique combination of flavours that is really something special.

The last time I went to Remark – before Christmas – I asked their manager if they carried local cheese.  She searched their display case, but couldn’t find any despite the large selection.  I’m very happy to see that has changed, and made a point of buying some to support the trend.  I probably should have said something too.  I’ll be sure to do so next visit.  Hopefully this will pave the way for other local cheeses in their display case.  

I am now finding an growing number of local products – and fair trade organic options for items not produced locally – in an increasing number of stores around town.  This is making my ‘eat local’ endeavour much easier, especially this time of year.  Produce is still pretty much non-existent, but meat is abundant, and local, organic dairy is almost becoming mainstream.  Combined with a freezer still fairly full of last summer’s veggies, I might just make it through the next 2.5 months after all.

2 Responses

  1. Glad to see you are blogging again after a hiatus. I worried we’d lost you, but perhaps you were just waiting for a good blog entry? I often laugh at how often I think, “oh, I should blog about that,” then sit in front of my computer and…nothing. Food and cleaning products give you a tighter focus! Despite the lack of a car or a dryer, I’m a little scared to do the carbon footprint self-test. So many things to reproach ourselves with. We moved into our place and installed hallogen spot lighting on dimmers. We didn’t realize that you can’t use energy efficient bulbs with these. Another eco-friendly no-no.

  2. Don’t worry – I’m pretty hooked on this blogging thing and won’t be going anywhere. I actually have a ton of ideas jotted down; it’s just a matter of finding the time to write about them. I keep a list so that when I do finally have a moment I have a memory jog to get me going. Lately I have been building my resources section, and that’s taken some time. But it’s nice to have a purpose for all the info I’ve collected over the past 10 months.

    As for putting energy efficient bulbs with dimmers, I did the same thing! The cracking and popping that started coming out of my light switch scared the daylights out of me! Fortunately I only have one dimmer in the whole house, so the rest of my bulbs are eco-friendly.

    I did my eco-footprint and I need 4.4 planets to maintain my life-style. Apparently that’s not too bad as the average Canadian needs twice that! Yikes.

Leave a Reply

